Home Malta Winds The MFA Awards

The MFA Awards


The MFA awards take place every year and are organised by the Malta Football Association. This event has been going on for several years.  The MFA gave its first player of the year award in the season of 1954-1955 to Lolly Debattista who used to play for Floriana. During this year’s event there were nine awards given to the athletes from The Premier League to The Amateur League, the coach of the year and the best player in the futsal league.

The main award of the evening was won by Hamrun Spartans midfielder Matthew Gullaimier who won The Malta FA Footballer of The Year. The former Birkirkara player was bought by Hamrun last Summer along with other promising players like Joseph Mbong and Juan Carlos Corbalan. He had an impressive debut season with Hamrun Spartans having featured in 21 games and scoring an amazing goal against Floriana, while providing 5 assists for his team mates. The 23 year old also had a positive season with the Maltese national team who was an important player in the squad and he also marked off his first international goal for Malta in a draw against Faroe Island.

Another Hamrun Spartans player who showed his impressive talent this season was Jorge Ailton Soares known as Dodo. He has made 22 assists and scored 13 goals this season, his great performances lead him to a national team call up with Cape Verde for the first time. This will be Dodo’s third season with Hamrun looking to continue on his great form from last season.

Hamrun’s coach won the coach of the year after a dominant season in the Maltese top flight. Mark Buttigieg also joined Hamrun last Summer from Nadur Youngsters in Gozo and he has won the GFL with Nadur and won the league in his debut season with Hamrun after a long wait of 30 years. Hamrun were a dominant side throughout the season and from the very first games they looked like they’ll be a strong team in the league after a 5-1 win against Sirens on the opening day of the league. Throughout the season they managed to get 17 wins out 23 games and only lost 1 game against Birkirkara in the first round. Last season Hamrun was the most team that scored goals and together with Hibernians were the least teams that conceded goals.

Alex Satariano was voted as the young best player of the season. The 19 year old had a great season with Sliema Wanderers having scored 6 goals. His impressive season lead him to signing a 3 year contract with Serie B side Frosinone in Italy and a National team debut aged just 19. Satariano scored his first international goal against Slovakia in a World Cup qualifiers which ended in an important draw for Malta.

The top scorer of last season was Santa Lucia’s forward Kevin Ante Rosero who scored 15 goals, a goal more than Hamrun’s Franklin Sasere. The Colombian was involved in 21 goals this season for Santa Lucia who in total, scored 38 goals. He has now signed with Volos NPS in the Greece Super League 1 after his 3 year spell with Santa Lucia who has played over 70 games for the club.

The BOV National Amateur League was split in 3 groups this year and the MFA gave an award for the best player and every group’s top scorer. The best player of the league and the overall top scorer is Attard’s Nicholas Attard. From Group A, Mgarr’s Jamie Lee Micallef was the top scorer of that group which lead them to a promotion in The Challenge League. From Group B Timothy Thomas was the top scorer of the group.

The Fustal Player of the Year is Eduardo Garcia Riano of Swieqi United. Although the pandemic didn’t help and the league stopped, it was a great season of football and a competitive one because the teams in the lower part of the table got some points against the top teams. This season will surely be another exciting season because all the 12 teams are good and well organised.

The post The MFA Awards appeared first on maltawinds.com.

Original article found on Malta Winds


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here